The brick arts and crafts cottage-style home of Jasper and Carole Pennington was built about 1926 by James and Betty Power. James Power was the area manager for the Craine Stationery Company. The house served as the rectory for St. Luke’s Episcopal Church from 1951 until 1986. Jasper Pennington was the rector of St. Luke’s from 1983 until 2001, and the Penningtons moved into the house in 1983, purchasing it in 1986. Its interior is captivating, reflecting the Penningtons’ keen interest in antiques and family history and showcasing their collections of pottery, music, and books.
As tourgoers go through the first floor of the house they will enjoy the reproduction 1880s William Morris Strawberry Thief wallpaper in several rooms; the Pewabic tile on the entryway floor and the original chandelier hanging above; and the stained glass windows displaying the Pennington coat of arms. Family portraits and other fascinating family treasures abound. Of special interest is the sizable portrait of New Jersey governor William Pennington that is an original etching by artist A. B. Walter of a photograph taken by Civil War photographer Mathew Brady. It hangs just to the left as you enter the front room.
The kitchen was first remodeled in the 1950s and then remodeled again in 2010. Motawi Tileworks of Ann Arbor designed the tile backsplash and counters. The Penningtons had the front porch enclosed in 1990, allowing them to use it in all four seasons. Wicker furniture on the porch came from Carole Pennington’s maternal grandparents.
Outside of the house the corner lot holds a variety of plants and shrubs tended by Mrs. Pennington. They provide color over many months and food for birds and squirrels year round. An interesting variety of outdoor ornaments enhances the gardens, which have spread out onto the Grant Street easement. A garden shed and the original two-car garage complete the property.